Calling all asshole parents that take their children to Toys 'R' Us with them. Yes, you know who you are. My sister (sorry sis!) is one of these parents. Let me clarify this and say that not all of you are assholes. Those of you that are assholes, let me explain why.
Is there a really good reason, that you decide to take your children with you to a toy store and NOT buy them something? What part of children and toys mix, don't you get? So to you, it seems like a good reason, to drag them around a HUGE store, filled with shelves and shelves of toys, but expect them to NOT throw a tantrum when you tell them no? How long have you been parents? Do you even understand the concept of being a parent and going to Toys 'R' Us? Here's the thing that really pisses me off. Forget that you're assholes. Your kids make me NUTS. I can't walk down ONE damn aisle, without almost tripping over your kid, whose on the floor screaming and crying because they want that new Iron Man doll, that transforms into some sort of building. Forget if I'm in a hurry. I'm trapped behind you and your asshole ass trying to calm your crazy kid down. I'd love to just rip something off the shelf, toss you a $50, and have it all settled, so I can walk faster than 2mph, in a store that's climbing with kids who are misbehaving.
When I take my children along with me, to Toys 'R' Us, I'm always well aware of the fact, that I'll probably be buying one, two or even five things, that see and want. You might be thinking that I'm the asshole parent, because you think I'm spoiling them. I don't agree. I see it as this. To keep my sanity at 6:30 pm at night, after I've had a long day at work, picked up my kids from school, taken one to soccer practice and now on my way home to cook, AFTER I HAD to rush into Toys 'R' Us, I'll pretty much give them whatever it is that they want. Yeah, call me a bad parent, I don't care. Because quite honestly, to me, and the other 20 or so people who are in back of you, cursing you out, under their breath, you're the bad parent. Just give the fucking kid the $20 glow worm and be done with it. Really. What is it that you really have to prove, to your 4 year old kid by NOT giving it to them? That you have the power?
I'm a mother of two kids. I haven't had the power in my household, since the first one learned to walk, talk and say "no." Let's not pretend that you're not thinking the same thing about your household. I'm just blunt and bold enough to say it. My kids are not spoiled. But if I'm going to take them to a damn toy store, I'm going to suck it up and buy them something, because at the end of the day, if you took me to a shoe store, I'd expect you to buy me those gorgeous pair of shoes that I'd want. And you best believe, that I won't be leaving that shoe store without them.
So, do us all a favor. If you're NOT going to spend the money on your kid, whose flying off the wall, with that superman cape on, then leave them at home. Please. Or be prepared to get snotty looks, bitchy comments, and elbowing in the arms when I pass you by.
Toys "R" Nuts
Posted by
Rachel
Tuesday, April 19, 2011
1 comments:
OMG you got it so righhhhhttttt! Thankfully my daughter is still too young to really point and throw a tantrum when I bring her to the toy store. However, yesterday morning I had to go in and buy a gift and wind up getting some kid trapped underneath the shopping cart and some lady say to me "Oh my God there's a little kid in front of you" so I turn to her and say "and where are his parents!" because they were NO WHERE in sight and I have to be careful?!?!?! Watch your damn kids and don't let them run around like zoo animals! I'm not a believer in those stupid kid leashes but if you're going to let your kid run rampant in a store and then try and get mad at me you better invest in that leash or have that kid fear you enough to stay near you!
Post a Comment