I'd like to know who thought it was a good idea, to let the kids out of school for the summer days. I understand that they need a break, or do I? These days, don't they have TOO much time for breaks? I feel like they should be learning more. Being educated more. Not bothering mommy more. I hate the summer, for this one reason alone. The kids are out of school. They want to be entertained. They want to be shuttled around, like I own a damn AA 747. They want to stay up late, because they can. They want to eat crap all day long because they can. They want to just drive mommy up the wall, because, yep, you guessed it: THEY CAN.
Couldn't they just give them off ONE month for summer? You know, like the month of August? Honestly. I mean it's not as if they'd be missing something between the months of June-August. All there really is, is HOTNESS. The sun. The rain. There's only so many times I can get away with bringing my kids to the beach. Or having them in our pool. The pool, which cost me tons of money, but gets used about 4 times each summer. Why you ask? Because kids these days are spoiled. If they already have it, they have no use for it after they've used it a few times. They get bored. They want to venture into something else that costs mommy her life savings. I can't take them to BBQ's, because mommy and daddy would like to drink and act like kids themselves, so that's out of the question. Camps cost too much, and they obviously don't want to go. By the time you think of something new for them to do, it's time for them to go back to school.
So, here's what I propose. Keep them in school, even during the summer. Or, maybe we could have a "I want my kids in school during the summer" option. You know. If those of you that actually want to run around after them in the summer, or have plans for a marvelous trip, then they don't have to go. But for those of us, that would like to keep our sanity during the summer, then hell, why shouldn't our kids be in school? I know there's summer school. But that's if kids fail. And, I, fortunately have two kids who do very well in school. They ace everything, so I can't even put them through summer school.
I guess you're thinking I'm a horrible mother at this point, but as always, I don't care. I just think these kids have way too much time on their hands these days. They're lazy. They do want to participate in things. They want to sit around watching TV. Play video games. When I was on summer break from school, I couldn't wait to go to the beach, swim in a pool all day. Try new things. No, these days, they're too old for their own good. When did that happen? They're NOT easily satisfied any longer and they talk back to you, like THEIR the parents. They know everything about everything and they're always right.
I guess I'll just have to sit around and take it. I love them more than I love life itself. But if I have to hear them fight in the next room, one more time, about who gets to watch what first, I think I'm gonna put my foot through the TV and call it a day.
Hope you're all enjoying your summer!
Happy Summer...Happy Kids...Miserable Mom!
Toys "R" Nuts
Calling all asshole parents that take their children to Toys 'R' Us with them. Yes, you know who you are. My sister (sorry sis!) is one of these parents. Let me clarify this and say that not all of you are assholes. Those of you that are assholes, let me explain why.
Is there a really good reason, that you decide to take your children with you to a toy store and NOT buy them something? What part of children and toys mix, don't you get? So to you, it seems like a good reason, to drag them around a HUGE store, filled with shelves and shelves of toys, but expect them to NOT throw a tantrum when you tell them no? How long have you been parents? Do you even understand the concept of being a parent and going to Toys 'R' Us? Here's the thing that really pisses me off. Forget that you're assholes. Your kids make me NUTS. I can't walk down ONE damn aisle, without almost tripping over your kid, whose on the floor screaming and crying because they want that new Iron Man doll, that transforms into some sort of building. Forget if I'm in a hurry. I'm trapped behind you and your asshole ass trying to calm your crazy kid down. I'd love to just rip something off the shelf, toss you a $50, and have it all settled, so I can walk faster than 2mph, in a store that's climbing with kids who are misbehaving.
When I take my children along with me, to Toys 'R' Us, I'm always well aware of the fact, that I'll probably be buying one, two or even five things, that see and want. You might be thinking that I'm the asshole parent, because you think I'm spoiling them. I don't agree. I see it as this. To keep my sanity at 6:30 pm at night, after I've had a long day at work, picked up my kids from school, taken one to soccer practice and now on my way home to cook, AFTER I HAD to rush into Toys 'R' Us, I'll pretty much give them whatever it is that they want. Yeah, call me a bad parent, I don't care. Because quite honestly, to me, and the other 20 or so people who are in back of you, cursing you out, under their breath, you're the bad parent. Just give the fucking kid the $20 glow worm and be done with it. Really. What is it that you really have to prove, to your 4 year old kid by NOT giving it to them? That you have the power?
I'm a mother of two kids. I haven't had the power in my household, since the first one learned to walk, talk and say "no." Let's not pretend that you're not thinking the same thing about your household. I'm just blunt and bold enough to say it. My kids are not spoiled. But if I'm going to take them to a damn toy store, I'm going to suck it up and buy them something, because at the end of the day, if you took me to a shoe store, I'd expect you to buy me those gorgeous pair of shoes that I'd want. And you best believe, that I won't be leaving that shoe store without them.
So, do us all a favor. If you're NOT going to spend the money on your kid, whose flying off the wall, with that superman cape on, then leave them at home. Please. Or be prepared to get snotty looks, bitchy comments, and elbowing in the arms when I pass you by.
No, I'm NOT A Twilight Mom...
Speaking of bad mother's. You want to know who I think a bad mother is? Those out of control, I'd like to throw apples at their heads, Twilight Moms. What the hell kind of shit is that? Running around like tweens screaming for Robert Pattinson, whose UGLY. I'm sorry. I know a lot of you swoon, fall over, go in heat, want to run around naked with him and all of that, but I have no idea why and I think you should have your eyes checked. Homeboy is UGLY. There is NOTHING appealing about him. So, for women that are my age, and shit, even older with children of their own, to run around gasping for air when they see him, is just mind boggling to me. He's not really going to glitter or sparkle for you. Nor will he bite you and make you immortal. I'm bringing this up, because my 7 year old daughter has been harassing me to watch Twilight since these idiots came out. I still will NOT let her watch it. Sorry, but I don't think those movies are appropriate for my 7 year old daughter. I don't want her thinking it's okay to fall in love with the wrong guy, follow him all over hte place and lose yourself in the process.
See, I'm not a bad mother. So, I get the cold shoulder about once a week, every time this stupid topic is brought up. Which just leads me to get more pissed off about the Twi-Moms in this world. Why don't you pick up "Percy Jackson" or "Harry Potter" for your kids to read and watch. Not a teen angst movie. They're little girls. They don't need to be subjected to it yet. Anyways, I was saying. We get into this argument almost once a week. She thinks that I'm being "Icky". (That's what she says) She asked her dad one night: "Daddy, did Mommy watch Twilight?" I almost barreled across the room taking the whole living room set with me to make sure he'd say no. He obviously knew better and said "No, honey. Of course not." Now, I know what you're thinking. If you're watching it, why wont you let your daughter. Well, here's the bottom line: Just because I can watch it, as a mature woman, doesn't mean that my little girl can. Twilight is not something that I want to bond over. We can bond over so many other things. These idiotic vampires are not one of them.
I'm not saying you shouldn't be a Vampire fan, because I am. But my 7 year old daughter will not be. I don't care what anyone says. And for you Twi-Mom's out there, you need to reevaluate your life. Sorry, but you do. What's missing from your life, that you're drooling over a teen angst series and sharing it with your kids. I watched Oprah one day, I almost hurled my Gucci shoe at the TV screen. It was about Twi-Moms. There they were, sitting in the front row, all decked out in "I'm a Twi-Mom" T-shirt. They squealed and jumped when Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner and what's her face came out. Then they showed behind the scene footage's of these women lives. The tons of Twilght Memorabilia that they had in their houses. Calenders, pillows, cut outs, stickers, books, posters. Ummm. What drugs are these women on? And can I call their shrinks please, because they need to be taken off of them, immediately.
You want a hobby? Bring your daughter to dance class. A museum. The Zoo. Anything. And while you're out doing that, maybe you should check yourself out along the way. Oh and again. Robert Pattinson is UGLY. Bottom Line.