Happy Summer...Happy Kids...Miserable Mom!

I'd like to know who thought it was a good idea, to let the kids out of school for the summer days. I understand that they need a break, or do I? These days, don't they have TOO much time for breaks? I feel like they should be learning more. Being educated more. Not bothering mommy more. I hate the summer, for this one reason alone. The kids are out of school. They want to be entertained. They want to be shuttled around, like I own a damn AA 747. They want to stay up late, because they can. They want to eat crap all day long because they can. They want to just drive mommy up the wall, because, yep, you guessed it: THEY CAN.


Couldn't they just give them off ONE month for summer? You know, like the month of August? Honestly. I mean it's not as if they'd be missing something between the months of June-August. All there really is, is HOTNESS. The sun. The rain. There's only so many times I can get away with bringing my kids to the beach. Or having them in our pool. The pool, which cost me tons of money, but gets used about 4 times each summer. Why you ask? Because kids these days are spoiled. If they already have it, they have no use for it after they've used it a few times. They get bored. They want to venture into something else that costs mommy her life savings. I can't take them to BBQ's, because mommy and daddy would like to drink and act like kids themselves, so that's out of the question. Camps cost too much, and they obviously don't want to go. By the time you think of something new for them to do, it's time for them to go back to school.


So, here's what I propose. Keep them in school, even during the summer. Or, maybe we could have a "I want my kids in school during the summer" option. You know. If those of you that actually want to run around after them in the summer, or have plans for a marvelous trip, then they don't have to go. But for those of us, that would like to keep our sanity during the summer, then hell, why shouldn't our kids be in school? I know there's summer school. But that's if kids fail. And, I, fortunately have two kids who do very well in school. They ace everything, so I can't even put them through summer school.


I guess you're thinking I'm a horrible mother at this point, but as always, I don't care. I just think these kids have way too much time on their hands these days. They're lazy. They do want to participate in things. They want to sit around watching TV. Play video games. When I was on summer break from school, I couldn't wait to go to the beach, swim in a pool all day. Try new things. No, these days, they're too old for their own good. When did that happen? They're NOT easily satisfied any longer and they talk back to you, like THEIR the parents. They know everything about everything and they're always right.


I guess I'll just have to sit around and take it. I love them more than I love life itself. But if I have to hear them fight in the next room, one more time, about who gets to watch what first, I think I'm gonna put my foot through the TV and call it a day.


Hope you're all enjoying your summer!

Nice To Meet You

Hi! My name is Rachel! I'm a 36 year old woman with no filter, married, and a mother of two, whose seeking the answers to the WTF questions, that we all have on a daily basis.